Override Files

Suppose a file already exists in a SharePoint folder and the user attempts to migrate the same file using the Attach2Dynamics UI, real-time or through bulk migration. In that case, the outcome will depend on the "Override file" configuration. If this setting is checked, the existing file will be overwritten. If unchecked, a new file version will be added with a version number.

Configuration

Unchecked

By default, the "Override file" setting is unchecked, as indicated in the screenshot.

In this scenario, if a file already exists in a SharePoint folder and a user attempts to migrate a file with the same name (or the same file, or two files with the same name simultaneously) using either real-time or the Attach2Dynamics UI:

  • Real-time

  • Attach2Dynamics UI

On SharePoint, a new file with a version number gets appended.

Checked

If the user enables the "Override files" setting for migration when encountering files with the same name in a SharePoint folder, the following occurs:

  • Real-time

  • Attach2Dynamics UI

This setting ensures that the latest version of the file is always migrated and replaces any existing file with the same name in SharePoint.

Note: This is across both the Attach2Dynamics UI, bulk migrations, and real-time migrations.

Last updated